In 1879 Gulf, Colorado and Santa Fe Railway Company agent George Sealy purchased 11,635 acres at this location from the township of San Felipe de Austin for the purpose of establishing a railroad depot. The village of Sealy soon developed around the depot and on July 5, 1883, it recorded its first burial here, that of the infant Annie Fowlkes. Families that settled in Sealy purchased cemetery plots directly from the railroad until the company donated the land to cemetery trustees C.H. Ruff, R.P. Josey, and John Hackbarth in 1887. The Sealy Cemetery Association was founded sometime prior to 1898 and officially chartered in 1924. The ladies of the cemetery society, organized in 1904, helped the association cultivate community support to upgrade and maintain the cemetery. Two notable society members, Mrs. J.W. (Vera) Ripple and Mrs. Paul (Mahala) Hackbarth helped organize a Christmas bazaar fundraising event in the 1930's that developed into an important annual social affair in the community. Among the more than 2,400 grave sites are those of many of Sealy's early residents. The cemetery boasts a variety of gravestones and statuary and includes two mausoleums. (1993)
415 Main Street
Sealy, TX 77474-2232
PO Box 517
Sealy, TX 77474-0517
Phone: (979) 885-3511
Fax: (979) 885-3513
The City of Sealy will strive to assure the highest quality of life for those who choose to live, work, and play here while protecting the City's economic well-being for current and future generations.
The City of Sealy is dedicated to preserving our history of excellence while continually investing in our future of progress.
Copyright © City of Sealy,Texas. All rights reserved. | Website Policies and Disclaimer